Do you use facebook ? This Warning is for you
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?


Britec Computer Tech Help Support Forums  « Virus Removal « Virus/Trojan/Spyware/Malware « Do you use facebook ? This Warning is for you
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Do you use facebook ? This Warning is for you  (Read 238 times)
tmy
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 673



View Profile WWW
« on: August 23, 2011, 05:29:59 AM »

 Azn everyone,
just want to warn people to be careful when clicking on a friends request, read on .............................

ZBot malware variant spreading in Facebook

Be warned  of a variant of the ZBOT malware that uses domain-generation techniques to extract data from victims' computers, The message bears a link that the user must click to approve the friend request. Clicking the said link, however, will only lead to a page informing the user that they need to install the latest version of Adobe Flash Player in order to proceed. Unsurprisingly, the downloaded file is not the Adobe Flash Player installer, but a malicious file detected as TSPY_ZBOT.FAZ

The TSPY_ZBOT.FAZ, like most ZBOT variants, connects to a certain site to retrieve a configuration file that contains URLs the malware will monitor. The malware will use the URLs specified by the configuration file to steal credentials and related data.

But unlike other ZBOT variants that use a present URL, TSPY_ZBOT.FAZ randomly generates a URL, depending on the system's current date. While this is not the first time ZBOT variants used domain-generation algorithms, using Facebook will potentially fool unsuspecting users.

This usage of the most popular social networking site, however, will definitely hook more unsuspecting users. Well you have been warned enjoy your facebook and relax but just be aware. Hope this helps to keep you guys clean so to speak take care.


 Wink



tmy


 Bye
Logged

www.stannic.com.au  Home Computing Services And Repairs
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: