Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dual boot windows 10 and 8.1
Question 
I previously upgraded from 8.1 to Windows 10 home and im curious if i dual boot windows 8.1 and windows 10 could i use the same product key for both os's?

no windows 10 has its own product key windows 8/1 has its own

this will also work with 8.1

Windows 10 has its own product key?? So my windows 8.1 product key is gone since i didn't think id need it and that somehow my product key would be the one windows 10 would use? Forgive me if i seem rude im not trying to be and sorry if i come off that way

If you had Win8.1 pre-installed (OEM) then it is possible to keep the same key and dual boot however, it is a very fiddly affair.

Was it an OEM version?

I bought a laptop that had windows 8.1 preinstalled on to it so i want to say its retail? Im still learning these things lol

Pre-install is OEM (Original Equipment Manafacture). So it should be possible to do using existing key but is a little confusing at times to understand, I will post steps to take when I get some more free time.

Alright sounds good Smile thank you

Dual Boot Win8.1 and Win10

Firstly create a full backup image to an external HDD (this includes reserved partitions etc, you may need these to revert the changes if things go tits up).

Next thing we're going to need is our embedded PK, if you don't know what it is then I would suggest downloading the portable version of RWEverything.

Quote:RWEverything:

Open up the program and select the ASCII tab, then select the MSDN tab, your PK will be shown at the bottom in full.

Once we have our PK (written down) we can begin the "procedure".

Step1 -:

Upgrade Procedure; please read instructions carefully to understand before proceeding.

Upgrade your Win8.1 to Win10 (this will assign your PK to Win10 via your machine ID)
Make sure you use the Windows 10 Media Creation Tool for this as it will give us the necessary ISO for the clean install.

When you have the ISO: